Stir-Fry Bamboo Shoots

16 02 2008

SUCCESS! I came home today with a sudden urge to cook up a stir-fry dish. Looking through my pantry, I found a large can of Bamboo shoots (that were about a cm in diameter) and thought of the stir-fry bamboo side dish often found in Chinese restaurants. I soaked the bamboo shoots in warm water, which supposedly washes away the smell of the tin can, while heating up a wok of about 3/4 cup water and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. When the mixture came to a boil with the fire set at medium, I drained the bamboo shoots and placed them in the wok. I mixed about 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of chicken bouillon, 1 1/2 tablespoons of oyster sauce, and 1 1/2 tablespoons of chili oil. I covered the wok to steam the bamboo shoots, stirring them every few minutes. Mm… The smell of salty and spicy bamboo shoots began to spread throughout my house as my stomach ached for them to finish cooking. After about 10-15 minutes when the liquid mixture was fully cooked into the bamboo shoots and the bamboo shoots were golden-brown (the darker, the saltier), I removed the bamboo shoots from the wok. If I do say so myself, these bamboo shoots tasted terrific, especially with a bowl of steamed rice. YUM!


Stir-Fry Bamboo Shoots

I didn’t record the measurements of each ingredient I added, so this is just an estimate… I recommend that you season to taste.

1/2 a 280 oz. (15.5 oz. drained) can of bamboo shoots
3/4 cup water
2 tbsp. soy sauce
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. chicken bouillon
1 1/2 tbsp. oyster sauce
1 1/2 tbsp. chili oil (less if you’re more sensitive to spicy food)

For Valentine’s Day, I baked the boyfriend his favorite Mrs. Field’s Cinnamon Sugar Cookies. I used a recipe I found online, although I can’t be certain that it is the original Mrs. Field’s recipe. The dough seemed too sticky to roll into a ball (even when I added an extra 1/4 cups of flour), but it became easier to shape once it was dipped in the cinnamon sugar topping. They turned out very similar to Mrs. Field’s cookie but with a slightly stronger cinnamon taste. Either way, the boyfriend (and a few friends and teachers) enjoyed the soft and chewy texture and the churro-like flavor, and it quickly became his favorite cookie out of all that I’ve made. Mrs. Field would be proud!


Mrs. Field’s Cinnamon Sugar Cookie
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup salted butter, softened
2 large eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract

Cinnamon Sugar Topping
3 tbsp. granulated sugar
1 tbsp. ground cinnamon

Form 1 inch (in diameter) balls and roll in the cinnamon sugar topping. Bake at 300F and enjoy!

I hope you all had a wonderful and chocolate-filled Valentine’s Day, whether you spent it with a significant other, friends, or family!

– eLu

[edit 02/16/08] I asked my grandmother for her recipe on the stir-fry bamboo shoots. She listed the same ingredients (soy sauce, chicken bouillon, etc) but claimed that she adds a tint of sugar. Because my grandmother is a much more experienced chef than I am, I can only assume that the addition of sugar makes the dish even more delicious!

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 02 2008
cookiejarconfessions

Emily Lu!! I must try these!!! Delicious! You are going skiing this wknd right? Have fun my love!!!

16 02 2008
SUCCESS in my First Stir-Fry Dish « GETINMYBELLY

[...] The recipe to my bamboo shoots and Mrs. Field’s Cinnamon Sugar Cookies have been posted onto Confessions from the Cookie Jar. [...]

16 02 2008
Ian

This sound delectable, I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for the recipe.

16 02 2008
crystalblurry

I have wrote down all the ingredients and am now headed to the grocery store. Thanks for making me fat. :)

18 02 2008
Char

I LOVE MRS. FIELDS’ CINNAMON SUGAR COOKIES!
Thanks for posting up the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

