Birth of a Business?

1 05 2008

The hills are alive… with the sound of phones ringing!

The communication lines are ringing off the hook, and I’ve gotten several requests this week. By Friday night, I need to have done 3 orders for 3 separate parties and I have no idea where to start – not without canceling something. The ingredients are scattered; my tools are limited; there is no car; flour and butter are getting expensive; hhm, and did I mention that there just isn’t enough time in the day? But I am so excited. A beginning of a business almost. Getting orders placed, leaning about each party in order to most appropriately cater to the needs of those parties – a housewarming gift, a dinner party, a co-worker’s birthday… some fairly typical events. And I had today to prep but none of what I made was presentable (visually, anyway, but soo delicious!). So it looks like tomorrow is going to be a long day in the kitchen – well, after chem, physics and Viet lecture AND a date with a hot commodity (details and story later). And the best part? I get to work side-by-side with one of my favorite people. I am constantly spoiled, and I should really learn to appreciate it more. So today, I was able to make a Jam Crumb Cake and my all time favorite Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies. In addition, I have a preview for you all – Mr9’s Ultimate Homestyle Smoked Ribs. Yum. So I hope that was enough to pique your appetite and interest. But the next few days are going to be hectic. So buckle those seat belts and get ready for a crazy ride.


Jam Crumb Cake
Was I divinely inspired to make these? Was I struck by some whimsical impetus? No. The sad truth is, I accidentally melted a stick of butter, so completely that the microwave plate was covered in yellow liquid and the butter wrapper was drenched in fat. Not so romantic or inspiring. Just me being a klutz in the kitchen ’tis all. So to not waste a whole stick of butter (it’s getting expensive, you know), I searched “melted butter” on Epicurious and of the hundreds of results, only this one seemed simple and doable. So do I did. And were they good you ask? Uh-huh. Heaven sent! I feel like accidentally melting the butter was NOT in fact an accident, but destiny. Manifest destiny! Not capitalized. But I am soo glad I stumbled onto this recipe, because it required an additional 3/4 cup melted butter for the streusel topping. Perfect. And boy, it’s good. Ask Carina. I’m sure she would love to tell you about them. If I remember correctly, these reminded her of home. And Christmas. Yum. The recipe calls for a cake, but I decided to turn them into cupcakes because they were intended for a party. But since Aman is demanind and these will not do for her party, these are now happily awaiting some attention and loving.

Jam Crumb Cake
Epicurious, Gourmet Dec 2007
Ingredients
For cake:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 stick unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup milk
1 large egg
1/2 cup raspberry jam or preserves
For crumb topping:
3/4 stick unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Directions
Preheat oven to 400°F with rack in middle. Generously butter a 9-inch square or round cake pan. (I used a lined muffin tin, so baking time was shorter).
Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
Whisk together butter, milk, and egg in a large bowl, then whisk in flour mixture until just combined. Pour batter into cake pan. Dollop jam all over surface, then swirl into batter with spoon. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, whisk together butter, sugars, cinnamon, and salt until smooth. Stir in flour, then blend with your fingertips until incorporated. Sprinkle crumbs in large clumps over top of cake.
Bake cake until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean and sides begin to pull away from pan, about 25 minutes. Cool in pan on a rack 5 minutes.


Mr9’s Homestyle Smoked Ribs
Being an everyday cook, Mr9 does not use recipes. So bear with me on this one. I have copied his email verbatim, so you can make sense of it as you will.
Dry rub, hickory smoked for 4 hours, then oven roasted at 275 for another 3 hours till it falls off the bone.
The dry rub can be store bought, or if you are feeling especially ambitious, then you can make your own dry rub. Mr9 says: “The main ingredients are usually brown sugar, dried herbs, chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Then you can get creative and add stuff that you thing will bring out more flavor. I like to add mustard powder, cayenne pepper, rosemary, dill, and whatever else is in your spice cabinet.” And for Mr9, this is an extensive collection of spices. But this is just a preview. When I make the actual thing, a post will follow.

So a quick post, until soon!

—Anh—

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 05 2008
Dan

BOO BOO BEEEARRR
:D

1 05 2008
mimietvivi

wow! i’m so excited for you <3

2 05 2008
chuanwei

========
========

IF YOU NEED A BLOG, DONT FORGET TO SEE HERE: http://www.leoxa.com/
(The themes is so beautiful & also able to place adsense)

========
========
many people have moved from other blog to Leoxa.com blog because the themes is very beautiful

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

