“The Best” Strawberry Shortcake

4 05 2008

To celebrate DNA Day last Friday (April 25), my Biotechnology teacher planned a Strawberry DNA Extraction Lab. Each group was also told to bring in small portions of strawberry shortcake, purchased or home-baked, to distribute to other teachers and compete to see who brought in the best strawberry shortcake. I was confident in my shortcake and rather pleased with my teacher’s response, as it proved that my experience in baking and has not failed me. “Great Strawberry Shortcake,” he wrote in my lab notebook, “The Best!”

The recipe I followed was, once again, taken from Essentials of Baking.


Williams-Sonoma’s Strawberry Shortcake

Ingredients
2 cups cake flour
1/4 cup and 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold, unsalted butter
1 large egg
1/2 cup heavy cream and more for brushing
2 tablespoons turbinado sugar
(which I replaced with brown sugar)
4 cups strawberries, hulled and slice
1 can of whipped cream

Directions
Preheat the oven to 425 F. Mix together the flour, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add the butter and mix only until the mixture forms tiny, coarse crumbs. In a bowl, whisk together the egg and the heavy cream. Pour over dry ingredients and mix until the mixture is moistened. Spoon out the dough onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper or foil. The mounds should be 3 inches wide and 3/4 inch high. Brush the top of the shortcakes with heavy cream and sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake until the shortcakes are a light gold brown. While the shortcakes are baking, brush 1 cup of strawberres with a fork in a bowl. Add the remaining 3 cups of berries and 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar. Mix well and refrigerate. When the shortcakes have baked, transfer them to a wire rack and let cool for 15 minutes. Carefully slice the shortcakes horizontally in half and spoon berries onto the bottom half. Top with whipped cream and cover with the shortcake tops.

Due to the success achieved through these strawberry shortcakes, I will continue to use this Williams Sonoma recipe. Not only do the shortcakes taste good even without strawberries and whipped cream, but the brown sugar also adds a wonderful, crispy texture.

As I realized I ran out of eggs and could not bake another batch of shortcakes, I itched to find a recipe for anything that did not require eggs. Ah, MEXICAN WEDDING COOKIES! I had forgetten which recipe I used a couple of months ago that resulted in a soft batch of cookies that melted immediately in my mouth, I took a chance and used the recipe in the same Williams-Sonoma book from which I took the shortcake recipe from.

Williams-Sonoma’s
Mexican Wedding Cookies
also called Russian Tea Cakes

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup toasted and ground hazlenuts
(which I replaced with walnuts)
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions
Preheat the oven to 325 F. Sift together the flour and salt. In a mixing bowl, combine the butter, granulated sugar, and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until smooth. Add the ground walnuts and blend. Add the dry ingredients and beat until the dough creates large clumps. Roll a level tablespoon of dough between your palms into a 1 inch ball. Place the balls 1 inch apart on the baking sheet lined with parchment paper or foil. Bake the cookies until the bottoms are light brown and the tops are lightly colored. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer them to a wire rach to cool completely. Sift the confectioners’ sugar into a bowl. Roll the cookies in the sugar and coat them evenly.

Although the cookies were beautiful in appearance and great in taste, they lacked the irresistible “melt-in-your-mouth” texture of traditional Mexican Wedding Cookies and only melted after a few long seconds, most likely a result of the granulated sugar (rather than confectioners’ sugar) used in the recipe. Now… I’ve finally remembered which recipe I used before, and I’ll be trying it out again sometime soon.

Happy belated DNA Day, all!

– eLu

Actions

Information

11 responses

6 05 2008
Strawberry Shortcake « GETINMYBELLY

[...] May.5.2008 Mmm, Strawberry Shortcake has quickly and somewhat ruthlessly fought its way to become one of my few favorite baked goods, taking a stand beside Boston Cream Pie, Shortbread Cookies, Mexican Wedding Cookies, and Palmiers. The recipe I found was extremely easy to follow, and it resulted in mouth-watering whipped cream and strawberry syrup sandwiched between golden mounds of shortcake. I only wish my friends could have tasted the shortcakes fresh out of the oven, warm and crispy (because of the brown sugar topping)… But hey, that only gives me another excuse to bake strawberry shortcakes again soon! Find the recipe for my Strawberry Shortcake and Mexican Wedding Cookies at Confessions from the Cookie Jar! [...]

6 05 2008
My Sweet & Saucy

Looks like a very yummy strawberry shortcake indeed!

6 05 2008
brilynn

Strawberry shortcakes are so summery!

6 05 2008
michelle

delish. i made kind of a wacky one last week, but you can’t go wrong with a classic shortcake. i get way too excited about strawberry season.

7 05 2008
RecipeGirl

These look perfect. And delicious. And refreshing. YUMM!

11 05 2008
Planet Books

You were so right about the Starwberry Shortcake recipe!! I made it for our dinner guests over the weekend and the dessert was a HUGE hit! I used to work for The Cheesecake Factory where they have the magnificent Strawberry Shortcake with the biscuit too and next to that, this recipe is my second favorite now. I LOVE W~S!!!!!!!!

21 05 2008
Christine

I love this recipe- I have been so happy with everything from this book that I have tried. (except the oatmel cookies- I thought they were heavy :)

7 06 2009
Donna

I really like the way this shortcake sounds. Many seem to use too much levening (you can taste it, imo), and they are made like plain biscuits. (no sweetener, not particularly short) I’ve used Lynn Rosetto Casper’s Benzone cake recipe as a shortcake for years. It too has egg in it and uses cake flour. The main difference I can see is that she does add lemon zest to it, while this one does not. We happen to like it, but I could see omitting it too. I’m going to try yours, as I have some strawberries masceraing right now.
I’m bookmarking this page, because we seem to be on the same wave length as to what really good baking should be!

2 07 2009
catherine

Yum! i just baked a batch of these for dessert and they were delicious!! i had to lower the oven temp. though because i thought they were browning up a little bit too fast but overall a fantastic recipe. Thanks for posting!!

9 01 2010
Donna

I’m Donna from above. Well, I tried this recipe last June when strawberries were in season and all I can say is WOW. This is the best, imo. We’ll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for this!

27 10 2014
disney cookie jars

disney cookie jars

“The Best” Strawberry Shortcake | Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

