Holiday Cookie Madness – Day Two!

I admit I had a late start today… but can you blame me when I didn’t sleep until like 4am?! I had rather distracted conversations last night (err, early this morning?) much to the dismay of some people I think. Sorry… anyway, I started at noon today, but it was very productive. I started on my Jam Thumbprint Cookie dough as it requires some chilling. It is definitely my favorite recipe as Thumbprint2I’ve received the best ratings from it. The real credit goes to Ina Garten. I have no complaints about this recipe, BUT I swear that my cookies have never ended up quite as nice looking as the picture seen on the FoodNetwork website. They don’t brown very well, and I have done pretty much everything under the sun – extra time in the oven, higher temp, even broiling… but they taste amazing either way. Also, these things are a heart attack on a plate, just fyi. And one minor note – I’ve been using salted sweet cream butter for all my cookie recipes (thank you Kirkland), so I skip the extra salt.Strawberry_JamThumbprint

Jam Thumbprint Cookies

3/4 pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash
7 ounces sweetened flaked coconut
Raspberry and/or apricot jam

I pretty much have not left the house in the last two days, and time is a-ticking, but the pressure is on!! I decided to cancel the green tea cookies – no time to be original and creative. So raincheck on those, and I’m sticking with the classics. Classics like my Mexican Wedding Cookies, probably like 50000 grams of sugar packed into a tiny ball. Yuum! I swear, I haven’t really eaten anything all day, only taste testing each batch as it comes out of the oven – but I can see the effects on my tummy already =( This is horrible! – I can’t fit into any of my dresses for the Nutcracker!! But this Mexican Wedding Cookie recipe is from a book by Catherine Atkinson, the only recipe I have ever actually liked from “The Ultimate Cookie Book.”

KitchenAidMix

Mexican Wedding Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1.5 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2.75 cups all-purpose flour
pinch of salt
1.25 cups pecans, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 375*. Beat butter until light and fluffy, then add 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar with vanilla extract. Gradually add flour and salt to creamed mixture, incorporating after each addition until it starts to form a crumbMexicanWedding1ly dough. Scrape the sides of your mixing bowl often if you are using a stand mixer. Don’t forget! Add the finely chopped pecans and knead the dough until well combined. Roll into balls, the size of…uhm… somewhere between a walnut and pingpong ball. This is a very forgiving recipe, so if your dough is a little too crumbly do not worry. Ideally, it should not be sticky and should only form balls under pressure. You can shape them into any shape. Last year I made horse shoes, but this year I am sticking to tiny balls so that I can wrap them individually like pieces of candy. But completely up to you. Bake for 10-15 min. until the cookies start to brown. Let them cool (and continue baking) on the sheet for 10 min., then transfer to wire racks to cool completely. Use the remaining powdered sugar (I used more actually) and heavily coat the cookie balls. This is so much fun and very kid friendly, if you ever want to bake with children. I just throw the cookies into a powder sugar filled tupperware container then shake and roll. Whatever floats your boat. Serve immediately, or if they aren’t already gone then store in an airtight container.

PumpkinCupcakes_1On top of endless batches of thumbprints and powder sugar cookies, I attempted a different pumpkin cake recipe, which I like better that the one I’ve been using. It’s a bit drier and holds is shape beautifully. My old one was a squishy mess. Recipes for both will be posted later… I’m getting a little lazy. So lazy to the point that I might just X this one off my menu. We’ll see.

But no it doesn’t end there! My sister, mom and I wrapped all several hundred gingerbread men, chocolate chip, sugar, and thumbprint cookies today as well. That means loWrapped1ts of cellophane, curling ribbon and just not enough table space at the Duong residence. Nope, nope. At the rate I’m going, I think its about time for a new house. We even did an inventory check today. So far…

  • 66 Gingerbread Men packed into 3’s
  • 120 Mocha Chocolate Chip packed into 5’s
  • 75 Sugar Cookies packed into 5’s
  • 88 Thumbprint Cookies packed into 5’s

Oh shoot. It looks like I’m a little short. Back to the kitchen!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Cookie Madness – Day Two!

  1. Kari says:

    YOU SHOULD BE RELAXING! WE’RE DONE WITH FINALS!
    In other news, I made peanut butter cookies! I can’t wait to see ya!

  2. Diem Pham says:

    Woman, tell me where do you get ur energy =). Love it.

  3. Pingback: Review: Market Hall Bakery « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

  4. Pingback: My Cookie Story…Featuring My Very Own Cookie-Dookie Monster | living a soulful life

Leave a Reply

