The Final Stretch – Cookies Continued

Seriously, the final stretch! First of all, I want to apologize that these cookies and this blog have taken over my life. I have put off catching up with friends and sacrificed precious hang out time for several hundred lumps of butter and sugar. I am particularly sorry about not making enough time for certain people, and it’s really not fair to you, someoneiknow. Are you still reading? But again to quote my very wise friend, Kari, “First we must stop feeling sorry for ourselves. It is very unattractive.” With that said, things can and will only get better. Like my batch of Molasses Spice Cookies which I started at around 2am the night before. Talk about amazingly delicious! They now trump my favorite cookie list, and who knew it would be so perfect? I stole it from Two Yolks, MolassesSpiceand this is the first ever recipe where I have had no complaints, no fixes, nada, zip. Oh wait, I lied. I didn’t have allspice, so I skipped it but did add a dash or so of ground cloves and it tasted just fine. The right amount of spice/kick to it I think. I baked them early this morning, and I just loved how perfectly shaped they turn out. But after that batch, I ran out of molasses =( so I postponed further batches until about now. The rest of the morning was a mad dash around Oakridge Mall, B&N, and pretty much all across San Jose locating ingredients, Xmas list items, etc. Talk about hectic. It’s soo crazy at the malls right now. A lot of tension and stress looming just under the store lights, right over the heads of angry shoppers. Then home, where I began putting together these gift packages. Lots of fun with ribbon, tissue paper, wrapping paper and gift bags. My house is a complete mess right now, and never enough table top space… It really is time for a new house. But all this wrapping and cleaning until about 5pm, and that’s when I started to pack up and get ready for my first round of deliveries. So pretty much, driving to North San Jose then Richmond (a good hour away for a VietLit classmate) then Berkeley. Ah Berkeley! It’s so strange when school isn’t in any more! It is so relaxed, something you don’t see very often at all on the Berkeley campus. And I hung out with pretty much some of the coolest people in the world. Kari and Aman! We exchanged happy Christmas presents and then I modeled various outfits for Nutcracker, but we immediately agreed to this brown Forever21 ordeal. You are not going to believe how cheap it was! I am just praying Linda or Crystal don’t have the exact same thing, as I would rather not be twins with someone tomorrow night. Anyway, Kari made peanut butter cookies from Smitten Kitchen. Talk about delicious! Crumble in your mouth tasty, and I hate peanut butter, but her cookies have converted me. Excellent texture, right amount of sugar, no buttery aftertaste. Good job my dear! I got Kari a Donna Hay cookbook, which I hope means hours and hours of kitchen experiments in the near future. There is no one in the world I’d rather cook with than this girl. And just spontaneously, we all went to Target and impulsively bought a bunch of food and snacks. These two girls are a little ADD when it comes to shopping, so it’s a ton of fun to watch… [falls asleep on the keyboard]

Also, I don’t know if I ever mentioned it, but I made an apple tart one night. Kari and I discovered this recipe right before our OChem final and it was absolutely divine. And talk about simple. I never knew an apple tart could be so easy! So our study break consisted of making this Alice Waters AppleTartRecipe found on Smitten Kitchen, one of our favorite food websites. But I was craving it sooo much that I decided to make it at 3am the other night. The only downside to baking at late hours of the night is that if one runs out of ingredients, running to the supermarket is slightly absurd (though I have definitely done it this week). I only had Fuji apples (my favorite by the way), which is too sweet and has too much liquid for baking. So before baking, I wrung out the juices from the apple (and unfortunately some flavor) with a cheesecloth. After baking, I found that my tart was drowning in apple juice so I drained it out before consuming. Either way, it was amazingly delicious and very satisfying at 5am. I did not appreciate the glaze as I don’t think the tart needed any extra sugar, however, I did add several dashes of cinnamon. Divine!

Simple Apple Tart

For dough:Apples
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, just softened, cut in 1/2-inch pieces
3½ tablespoons chilled water

For filling:
2 pounds apples (Golden Delicious or another tart, firm variety), peeled, cored (save peels and cores), and slice
d
2 ta
blespoons unsalted butter, melted
5 tablespoons sugar

For glaze: ½ cup sugar

Molasses Spice Cookies

2 1/3 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground allspice
12 tbsp butter, softened
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
about 1/2 cup sugar

Ok officially tired and very near burnt out – but in the best possible way. So I’m calling it a night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

