Post Christmas Wind Down

So I’m back from my short (though it seemed like ages) trip to Vegas/SoCal. I hate Vegas with a passion, but SoCal was great. I did nothing in Vegas but shop, and even that was a let down. Maybe it might have been better if ICupcake1 had been 21? Anyway, we spent Christmas Eve in Fullerton and went to mass in Garden Grove. I drove most of the way, and we arrived home in one piece on Christmas Day in time for a family party. I am sick of cookies. I don’t want to eat them, see them, and I don’t want to bake another cookie for at least a day. So today, I made cupcakes instead. Yuum. My experience with cupcakes has been minimal, but reading the Cupcake Bakeshop by Chockylit is truly inspiring. And since I’m a novice, I decided to stick to a more basic recipe – Old Fashion Chocolate Cupcakes with Coconut Buttercream Frosting. Beautiful cupcake, but cloyingly sweet frosting. So, I would say go easy on the frosting. Then again, I am not a fan of frosting, so take what I say as you Cupcake2will I guess… Also, such luxuries like Valrhona or Scharffen Berger chocolate really elude the typical college student. For now, I will just have to be content with my Nestle and Hershey’s.

Old Fashion Chocolate Cupcakes

For Cupcake:
3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cocoa powdered
2 tablespoons instant espresso powder
1-1/2 cups milk
2 teaspoons vanilla
For Frosting:
1-1/2 sticks butter, room temperature
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar
1-1/2 cups coconut, sweetened flaked

As I still have 4 weeks of Winter Break left, I made a run down to the library for winter readings. In my pursuit of a good literature, I stumbled on the infamous King Arthur Flour Cookbook, which means my next few weeks will be well spent plunging through King Arthur’s covers. In addition, I also grabbed Tartine by Elisabeth Prueitt and Chad Robertson. I was hoping to get away from desserts and move on to ‘real food’, but these books were calling to me I swear. So this will be very exciting four weeks. On another note, there is a benefit concert coming up created by my good friend Jennifer Tran. Through the years, she has created a series of benefit events to raise money for varying groups across Vietnam, but this year the aim is different – to reach out beyond our own skin color and extend our hands to 20 destitute Ethiopian children. Red Balloon will feature several bands and plenty of pastries. This is where I come in – I will be making something to contribute, so I will have a post up for that soon. Please come if you’re in the area. It’s for a great cause, and what better way to wrap up the holiday season than with some good will, eh?

Red Balloon
| Under|sky | Pazookies | Circus Circus | and more |
| $15 | Friday Dec. 28, 2007 | 6-9pm |
| St. Patrick’s Proto-Cathedral | 389 E. Santa Clara St. | San Jose, CA 95113|

Other things to look forward to… Stephanie Roit is back in town with her brand new Wii, so we will be making Wii cookies at some point. Of course a visit to the Roit residence is not complete without some baking and tips from Mrs. Roit, professional cake decorator for the old Wilson’s Bakery in San Jose. Emily Lu, newly admitted into USF’s nursing program, will be forwarding an amazing Linzer/Shortbread cookie recipe for me soon, so a bit of a recipe exchange there. After Red Ballon, a bunch of us will be heading out to Club Whisper in the city, and that should be loads of fun. So until soon loyal readers. My room needs cleaning.

.a.n.h.d.

This entry was posted in Baked Goods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Post Christmas Wind Down

  1. Diem Pham says:

    Hey Chica, I’m looking for a baker to make our wedding cake. Do you think Mrs. Roit would be up for it? Having a hard time finding one that would potentially be able to delivery in Monterey =/

  2. annie says:

    OH MY GOSH! it looks so great! you are my hero

  3. mr. mugnolo says:

    wow… i wish i substituted more so that we could become friends and you can come and visit me and give me some of those great looking cupcakes

  4. sexy time man says:

    hey baby. how bout you come over and give me some of you sweet shuga.

Leave a Reply

