Storm before the Hiatus

Be still sad heart, and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall

—Henry Wadsworth Longfellow—

That is perhaps my favorite rainy day quote. And so true, wouldn’t you say? I, however, love the rain, and thus see this OatmealBallimpending storm in a different light – it’s cleansing and beautiful. Terrifying with the high winds and thunder and lightning, but beautiful nonetheless. This is the last post I will do until Monday, as I will be retreating into the Los Altos hills for the weekend. But I want to leave you with something to read this weekend, so at 3am, I am making oatmeal cookies. Actually, I wanted to make a quick care package for a sick someoneiknow. It ended not being a package, but more a plastic bag with cough drops, syrup and oatmeal cookies. Yuum. Now there is a recipe I normally use which can be found on Joy of Baking. But I was adventurous enough to try a new recipe that I found on Bake or Break. Oatmeal DoughI know for a fact that Kari will hate these as there is an overload of pecans, oats and cranberries crammed into too little dough. There is hardly any cookie. But it tastes amazing I think. Olivia says she can taste the trans-fat in the Joy of Baking version, but try both out when you get the chance and let me know. In addition to being the last things I bake for a few days, these cookies will also be for my retreat “family” – in my opinion, food and family are always associated. And because group sharing is really difficult, I would like to think that cookies would ease the tension a little and allow easier flow of discussion. I am flying as solo PC this time, and I am terrified. So whatever tricks/gimmicks/tips/hints you have, send them my way, please!

Joy of Baking Oatmeal Cookies
1 cup (110 grams) walnuts or pecans, toasted and chopped (optional)
3/4 cup (170 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup (215 grams) light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup (105 grams) all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
OatmealCookieMore
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 cups (260 grams) old-fashioned rolled oats (NOT instant)
1 cup dried cranberries, cherries, or raisins
1 cup white or dark chocolate chips

Bake or Beak Oatmeal Cookies
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups sweetened dried cranberries
1 & 1/2 cups coarsely chopped pecans, toasted
1 & 1/4 cups quick-cooking oats

I would say go light on the chopped pecans and oats as it really overwhelms the cookie, making it just a nutty bar really. It also makes it a very crumbly dough that does not adhere and breaks apart easily. However, the texture and sweetness of the toasted pecans = divine! I like it, but if you are looking for more cookie then go easy on the oats and pecans. I would say only 3/4 of each portion or even half.

So enjoy your weekend my reader. Stay warm, enjoy a hot cup of cocoa and warm oatmeal cookie while curled up in your favorite arm chair. If you get the chance, go outside. It is REALLY fun to dance in the puddles, or even learn how to play chess in the rain (Santana Row is perfect). When was the last time you were a little spontaneous? That’s right. Go live a little. It is almost 5am now, and I have to be at the Tech at 11am for Body Worlds with a few friends, then lunch at Johnson’s place, then Retreat time. So adieu, adieu, to you and you and you. Good night and sweet dreams readers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Storm before the Hiatus

  1. Pingback: The Anticipation « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

