Post Break, Paleozoic Revisited & Other Rainy Day Pursuits

What’s in a name? Strange title for this weekend’s post, wouldn’t you say? Well, it started late (after 6pm Physics Friday) but fortunately won’t end until Monday afternoon. And recently, my fingers have been itching for the feel of dough in my palms and sugar under my nails, the scent of fresh cookies assailing my olfactory organ. I’ve been looking up recipes all week, and I finally get to execute all of them. On this weekend’s menu, Gingerbread Dinosaurs, Animal Sugar Cookies, Vietnamese Coffee Cupcakes, and Thick Crispy Sugar Cookies, all new recipes, two from a new discovery – RecipeGirl.net. So why Paleozoic? Well, Piggy’s birthday is coming up (29th) and she got me a 100 piece cookie cutter set for Christmas, complete with dinosaur cookie cutters. Cookie my cookie cutters?!?So of course, put two and two together… Piggy loves animals, Piggy likes eating, therefore Piggy will (hopefully) enjoy eating animal cookies! So, zoo animal sugar cookies and gingerbread dinos, and her name spelled out… Lots of goodies for Piggy! The Vietnamese Coffee Cupcakes are from the Cupcake Bakeshop, an incredible blog for cupcakes. The only problem is, mine never turn out right. They never taste good or even remotely like normal cupcakes. I have the worst luck with cupcakes, but as always, I’ve never been one to give up, so I tried again… and still a disappoint. Just ask Cathy, or Tram, or Duy. They will tell you. They will also tell you about the extra crisp, over sweet sugar cookies that I made… yeah, late night baking attacks usually mean over baked cookies. Sorry everyone. But why other rainy day pursuits? Well, I had another Santana Row Farmer’s Market run, and that is always fun. Not so many vendors as it was pouring, but good company, good weather and I’m a happy camper. I also ended up at Century Theaters for (out of all movies and please don’t judge me) Meet the Spartans, possibly one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. And as good fun as it was, I refuse to ever go see a comedy with someoneiknow ever again – excessive guffawing and chuckling, the exact audience member I would HATE sitting next to in the theater. It’s sorta like how I hate chatty servers, sorry. But a fabulous day, topped off with (1) a stop at the Falafel Drive-In (2) Daffodils! (3) and a trip to Target. So my weekend in a nutshell. Hope yours was equally great, if not better. The rain should never hinder the pursuit of fun. So go invest in a pair of rain galoshes and maybe a sturdy umbrella… oh, and a personal travel-size (meaning take anywhere with you) heater to keep you warm. That’s it for now. My goal is to write one entry a week, so check back weekly!



Vietnamese Coffee Cupcakes
originally from Chockylit’s Cupcake Bakeshop
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs, room temperature
2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup strong brewed Vietnamese coffee
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon coffee grounds


Recipe Girl Sugar Cookies
originally from RecipeGirl

These make very cloyingly sweet cookies, and because I over baked, they turned out rock hard. Sugar cookies just never brown for me, so I always try to keep them in the oven longer than specified. Oops. But yes, very sweet. Trinda and Nhi refused to eat a whole cookie because they were soo sweet. But they remind me of the Otis-Spunkmeyer cookies, where the dough comes in a tub, and all you have to do is scoop and bake. Yes, that’s what they are. The industrial sugar cookies. Doesn’t sound too appealing, but they aren’t bad. Just go easy on the sugar I guess… And just fyi, I probably won’t use this recipe again, not without some adjustments anyway.

4 cups flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup powedered sugar
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cream of tartar
extra sugar to taste


Cinnamon Sugar CookiesLeaf Cookie Cutters
originally from RecipeGirl

This is a good substitute for ordinary shortbread or plain sugar cookies. The cinnamon gives the cookie flavor and prevents Olivia from tasting all the butter – which she often complains about actually. These are very soft, melt in your mouth sort of feeling. You can make your own colored sugars, like these leaves here. Or you can use store bought sprinkles, like how I did for Olivia’s name. To make them adhere a little better, brush the cut dough shapes with a little water and sprinkle on your sugar. Bake. And devour. Repeat as necessary.

2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
extra sprinkles, colored sugars and candies for decoration


Joy of Baking Gingerbread
originally from Joy of Baking

These are perfect for a soft, dense gingerbread cookie. Don’t over bake, unless you like your cookies hard. However, let it be known that softer cookies always feel and taste more fresh. These are a bit delicate, especially when using such detailed cookie cutter shapes like the dinosaurs. The tails and arms never came out, so be gentle when handling the dough. Freeze unused portions of the dough (tightly wrapped in plastic) while you work, so it doesn’t fall a part come time for use.

3 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
1 large egg
2/3 cup unsulphured molasses

This concludes the weekend. I wish you happy baking in your kitchen. AND — HAPPY 21st BIRTHDAY OLIVIA! I hope you will enjoy the cookies, my Piggy/PlasticFroggie!!!!!

This entry was posted in Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Post Break, Paleozoic Revisited & Other Rainy Day Pursuits

  1. Belugawhale says:

    Hello Piggy.
    I want you to remember that you bruised my two big toes today, and that your green shoes have foot fungus in them now from the things I stepped through. You will meet Bozo sometime later this semester when you’re sleeping….muhhahahaha

    I like the cookies that you made for me =) They are very preeeeeeety. Thanks!

    very nice logic: Piggy loves animals, Piggy likes eating, therefore Piggy will (hopefully) enjoy eating animal cookies!

    I have to go lose 5lbs now so I g2g.

    -Anonymous

  2. Kari says:

    the gingerbread ones were wonderful!!

    also, anhi, you overuse the word cloyingly like NO OTHER.

    k see you at review

  3. Char says:

    Blogs like these make me wish I live with you.
    Or at least near you. 8)

  4. RecipeGirl says:

    Hi There,
    Fun to see that someone is trying cookie recipes from my site! Sorry you didn’t care for the sugar cookies. It’s funny… that recipe was chosen out of lots of sugar cookie recipes for the San Diego Junior League cookbook. I guess other people may have preferred the sweetness of them. Anyway, thanks for checking out my site… be sure to check out my blog too ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://TheRecipeGirl.blogspot.com

  5. Geena says:

    im a bake-aholic too! sadly, i cant bake all that often thanks to school but i can sometimes find the time ๐Ÿ™‚ your cookies look/sound delicious!

    ps. i found this link through my newsfeed. haha im not a stalker ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Pingback: Road to Recovery « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

