Chocolate Craving

Just a week away from the holiday known to fatten up women with the guilty pleasure of gorging several boxes of chocolate, I began my chocolate marathon early. I found myself with an intense chocolate craving on Thursday afternoon, a yearning that neither Godiva chocolates nor rich Truffettes de France truffles coated in Cocoa powder could satisfy. I thought nothing would treat my craving until I found the chocolate World Peace Cookies by Dorie Greenspan listed on Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy. I nearly drooled just thinking of the rough and chewy texture of the cookie softening at the roof of my mouth. I ran to the kitchen and began my mixing the recipe that I knew would cure my chocolate craving.


Chocolate World Peace Cookies
1¼ cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
11 tablespoons unsalted butter
2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 ounces of chopped bittersweet chocolate
(I melted semisweet chocolate instead)

Halfway through mixing the ingredients, I realized that I had less than 1 cup of flour left and only 3 ounces of baking chocolate. I planned to eliminate equal amounts of each ingredient, but I had already mixed the butter and sugars. Instead, I rushed to the supermarket and purchased a bag of flour and a box of baking chocolate. The recipe called for the dough to be chilled for at least three hours, but with a chocolate craving like mine, I grew impatient after only one hour; however, I was glad to have chilled the dough for only 1/3 of the required time. The dough was crumbly and extremely challenging to slice without it falling apart. I warmed it in the microwave for a few seconds and found it much easier to roll the dough into formed balls and flatten them into ½ inch thick discs. I baked the cookies for about 15 minutes at first but found them too soft to hold together, as they crumbled apart with each slight movement so I place them back into the oven for another 5-10 minutes. Although the cookies didn’t turn out was well as I had hoped (in both taste and texture), they certainly satisfied my extreme chocolate craving. YUM!

— eLu

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Craving

  1. Thanks so much for the link! These are one of my favorite cookies. I can see that I’m not alone. 😉

  2. Char says:

    posts like these make me wish i live at home
    so that i’m only 2 minutes away from the
    heaven you call your kitchen. 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    Mmm sounds delicious. I swear, reading your blog makes me so hungry and itching to bake something too 🙂

  4. getinmybelly says:

    Char:
    Aw, I (and Anh, probably) promise to fatten you up the next time you’re home!

    — eLu

Leave a Reply

