…Baby, it’s cold outside…

It’s been a cold and blustery week here in the Bay Area – torrential showers, undulating winds, and chills that pierce to the bone. And I sit wrapped under layers of fleece blankets, fingers curled around a hot mug of Trader Joe’s Spicy Chai Latte (amazing stuff btw), feet hidden by knee-high wool stockings, when suddenly from the heavens, the clouds seem to part, and a small crack of light squeezes itself between the carpet of clouds.

special made simple.
d o n n a h a y
issue 42
DEC/JAN 2009

The first of my donnahay subscriptions has arrived – and I might be the luckiest girl ever, as they are actually a present from someoneiknow.

all the cute things you do simply simply tickle my heart.

Very sweet and very thoughtful, don’t you agree? If only I could get him something as amazing and meaningful … Anyway, I am super excited to start trying out the donna recipes, as it is finally Winter Break and I have free time after all. But as I browse the 250+ page magazine and mentally make note that I need to repeatedly thank someoneiknow, I am going to nibble at this amazing Molasses Spice Cookie, that just complements my Chai latte sooo well – talk about a spiced up night.


Molasses Spice Cookies
Guilty as charged. I make these cookies for every event and every occasion I can (last Xmas, Thanksgiving dinner, finals stress food, birthday present, etc.). But can you blame me? They are amazing! And just in time for the Holidays. These can be baked on the lighter side for soft cookie lovers, or browned a bit for the crispy crowd. I can be both, and either way, these cookies are delightful. I believe these are originally a Dorie Greenspan creation – no wonder they are delicious!

Ingredients
2 1/3 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground allspice [optional; I have done without on a few occasions, and it turns out fine]
12 tbsp butter, softened
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
about 1/2 cup sugar [large crystal = the better!]

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and all spices.
In a separate bowl, beat the butter until smooth and creamy. Add the brown sugar and molasses and combine until well incorporated. Add the egg and beat together.
Slowly add dry ingredients, mixing until just homogeneous. Fold the mixture together several times with a spatula. Divide dough in half, and wrap each half in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least an hour before baking.
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Place 1/2 cup of large crystal sugar in a shallow bowl or saucer. Working with one of the dough halves at a time, remove one from the fridge. Pinch off walnut-sized balls from the dough.

Roll each dough ball in the sugar until well coated. Place each ball on a cookie sheet.

Dip the bottom of a cup into sugar and evenly press each of the balls flat, about 1/4″ thick. Repeat with the remaining balls.

Bake each cookie sheet for 12 to 14 minutes. Allow the cookies to cool and then remove them from the baking sheet. Enjoy!

This was a short and simple entry. I just finished finals and am lazy as heck. But the next few days should be fairly productive, and I will hopefully be cranking out more entries. The Holiday Season is in full swing now, so I hope you are already making plans in preparation for it. Until then, I will be glued to my new donnahay.

Love and Good Winter Eats,
AnhD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …Baby, it’s cold outside…

  1. kari says:

    i miss you! hope your break is going well

  2. Pingback: Welcome to Adulthood « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

  3. Pingback: Holiday Cookies « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

