The Debut

Hello readers! It’s been a while, I know. My winter break is over, and the whole school thing is up and running again. And despite what you may think of my rather idle blog-habits, I’ve kept busy. My semester officially started last Tuesday Jan. 20th, but it didn’t seriously register until about yesterday. And why, you may ask? Well, it is because my mind was preoccupied with planning MY FIRST CATERING GIG. So here it is! The Debut of my life in food! A good friend asked me to cater her dance group’s first birthday [MAINSTACKS], so of course I said yes, and of course I threw all of myself into it, and of course I was exhausted, and of course I had the BEST TEAM helping me [someoneiknow, FairyGodMother, Duy, Shirley, Nhi, Kari, mother] and despite it being my FIRST event, all in all – it turned out pretty well. Thank you all soooooo much!!!

MainStacks is so HOTT.

They worked that runway so hard, it ripped.

Yeah, I bought vases. I bought fake snow. I spent hours chopping branches for those vases. I bought runway fabric. I bought ribbon and serving ware and candles. It’s all evident. But what these pictures don’t capture… I bought 9 tubs of mascarpone. I bought $40 worth of cheese. I bought 10 pounds of fettucine. I went through 4 pound blocks of butter. I peeled, chopped and mashed 35 pounds of large russet potatoes. I subsisted on minimal sleep and maximum stress. I probably drove my roommates mad with the mess in the kitchen. But it all was worth it, because in the end… The food was delicious; the presentation commendable; and for the most part, it was a great debut.

Here is the Italian menu that my friend chose for her 30 dancers. You have NO IDEA how much food these dancers can scarf down. It is ridiculous. I had to plan enough for 60. Recipes will be posted shortly.

Main Stacks Dinner Menu

STARTERS
Roasted Bell Pepper & Homemade Pesto Crostinis
Potato Leek Soup w/ Rustic Italian Bread

ENTREES
Anh’s Secret Chicken Parmagiana & Marinara w/ Buttered Fettucine
or
Eggplant Parmagiana & Marinara w/ Buttered Fettucine

SIDES
Tomato, Parmigiano-Reggiano & Basil Salad
Crispy Oven Roasted Garlic and Herb Potatoes

DESSERTS
Italian Tiramisu with Homemade Ladyfingers
Espresso Brownies

I am shamelessly advertising here (heck, it’s my blog, I can do what I want), but if you EVER need party trays (sweet or savory) or have a small, intimate event coming up, give me a call, and maybe we can work something out. As an amateur, I’m fairly low budget, but the quality is all there, I guarantee it (I feel like that guy from the Men’s Wearhouse). Like I said, recipes will be posted soon, but alas, that is all the time I have for today. Until next time food lovers when you join me on my next food episode!

l.o.v.e.
AnhD

PS. In case you cared, things to look forward to:
Baked goods for my PH116 class – Tonight.
Jimmy Needs Me to Knead Bread with Him – Wed.
La Farine Fruit Tart Binge w/ Miss Piggy – Wed.
Dine About Town w/ my beautiful date Nicole – Thur.
The Family Tet Party – Sun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Debut

  1. Chi Nhu-An says:

    Wanna do my wedding for me? 😛

  2. Christine says:

    You better fit a dinner chez Christine in your schedule sometime. Sherman dinners are delicious and you don’t have to sweat in the kitchen.

  3. quynh says:

    Ah hahahahaha

    men’s warehouse xD omg thats an original

  4. Diem Pham says:

    Looks like an awesome event! I don’t know where you get your energy from =)

  5. food-cook says:

    wow would have loved to be there.
    it looks so good. im sure you will be getting alot of work via this post 😉

    thanks!

  6. Carrie says:

    yay for ph116 baked goods! love you annhh!

Leave a Reply

