Review: Sprinkles Cupcakes

Sprinkles Cupcakes
393 Stanford Shopping Center
Palo Alto, CA 94304
(650) 323-9300

After a killer biochem exam early last week, I took a “personal” vacation from school and spent the rest of the week at home. Fairygodmother came and rescued me from my Berkeley-hell, and together we went in search of some yuum cupcakes. And what better than to drive from Berkeley to Stanford right? My schoolmates would be disgusted.

Believe me when I say, I’ve had quite a few cupcakes in my time. East Coast to West Coast – I feel like I am single-handedly supporting the cupcake industry. And it was high-time I met up with the infamous Sprinkles for a little tête-à-tête.

Upon entering, I am drawn by the very simplistic nature of the store’s decor – clean, uncluttered and modern with the cupcake window taking center stage as you walk in the door. The long stretch of counter ends in the cash register and pick-up booth. Opposite the counter, the huge windows let in gorgeous naturally filtered soft light, and the whole place is awash in this glow. No need to over-decorate when the sunlight itself adorns the store.

Fairygodmother and I order 3 cupcakes – Carrot Cupcake, Strawberry Cupcake and (again my fav) Red Velvet Cupcake. Now, Fairygodmother has the appetite of a mouse – she will nibble on a bit of food and declare that she is full – essentially, I ended up eating more than wonted. Oops. Here is my critique of the overly-raved-about cupcakery:

Strawberry Cupcake: Ridiculously sweet frosting, resulted in tooth decay; frosting tasted artificially even though I know they use real strawberries (I saw it on Martha Stewart); cake was moist, but the flavor left much to be desired; thumbs down.

Carrot Cupcake: Delicious cake with standout pieces of carrot which I really appreciated; well spiced and strong flavors throughout the cake; Frosting did NOT overpower the cake, which I can also appreciate as so many other cupcakeries mess this upRed Velvet Cupcake: Amazing, though I am having a hard time discerning differences in the many Red Velvets out there; strong cocoa flavor, which is good, but not typical of Red Velvet as it usually has a bit more of a twang from the vinegar; still delicious

The final verdict? Decent. NOT the best, but certainly NOT bad. Worth the drive? ONLY if you happen to be in the area, but certainly not worth an arm and leg of gas to get there… I want to go back at some point to try the other flavors so I can do a more comprehensive review. Or maybe I should do a side by side comparison with another cupcakery to be fair – afterall, Kara’s is right down the street…

Fluffy frosting dreams,
AnhD

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Sprinkles Cupcakes

  1. Fairygod mother says:

    I HAVE AN APPETITE OF A CHAMPION! pssssh! lets go again! i’m hungry for more!

  2. Mr. Anonymous says:

    Fun blog! Makes me wish I was a more active foodie!

    Are you really using a simple point-and-shoot camera? Photos make me hungry and I just ate!

  3. Lando says:

    I was just introduced to Sprinkles for the first time just a few days ago from co-workers. They were telling me how the Red Velvet flavor completely knocked their socks off. I took their word and tried a couple. I’m not big on desserts and sweets, but that cupcake was definitely a good treat.

  4. Tri says:

    god your photos are so mean! now im hungry haha

Leave a Reply

