Not a new day.

Dated: Thursday June 11, 2009 @ 2pm

Despite the overall positive forecast from earlier today, I am still as confused as I was a few days ago. I’ve been happy (externally), that’s for sure, and grateful for my loving friends and family who have been with me these last few days. But inside, I can’t but feel uneasy. My emotions waver between nonchalance, anger, and total submission. Nonchalance – it’s easy not to care. Anger – at myself because I don’t know what I want or need. And total submission – for me to collapse on my knees, apologize, and compromise and concede. I want to laugh, but acrid tears stain my cheeks. I want to smile at the world, but my quivering lip betrays me. I want to sing la-la-la-la, but my voice fails to find its sound. I try to think clearly, but I am reeled into this quagmire of indecision. I need to calm my nerves.

Cup

Korean Ginger Tea
In part because I was craving this after being introduced last week to this delicious drink and in part because I knew I needed it, I made myself a nice strong batch of Saengang Cha. It is warm (not temperature-wise) with the aroma and bite from both the ginger and cinnamon. It is cool in that it blunts your other nerves while your sense of smell and taste are heightened. Often served as a dessert beverage after Korean meals, perhaps you will also find the soothing powers of Saengang Cha.

Peel

Ingredients
3 quarts water
1 cup sliced peeled and sliced ginger
3-4 sticks of cinnamon
honey, to taste
pinenuts (optional)

Cinnamon bark

Directions
In a large pot, bring the water, sliced ginger and cinnamon to a boil and let simmer for 1.5 hours. The ginger will soften and the liquid will turn a pale amber. Taste the liquid. Once you have arrived at your desired spice level, remove the pot from the heat and strain out the ginger and cinnamon sticks. Stream honey into the hot liquid while continuously stirring the pot to mix evenly.

Liquid

Serve with a few pinenuts as garnish in each glass. This can be served hot or cold. I prefer it cold for the summer months, and hot in the winter. It is delicious either way.

Sipping tea,
AnhD

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a new day.

  1. Kevin says:

    Are you all right, Anh?

Leave a Reply

