New Summer Day

For some, summer brings to mind long lazy days by the blue pool, sipping frothy pina coladas through a pink umbrella straw. For others, summer is a limitless trail over rugged terrain, victorious sunsets just beyond the horizon and nights bonding by a campfire. For me, summer is lush fruit, sand between your toes, and an abundance of quality time with those you might otherwise have neglected during the school year. My life post-relationship has been this unending series of catching-up and gossip, of happy hour and delicious food, of laughter mingled with a few tears – ultimately leading to the mending of a (still hopeful) heart. I think it’s healthy. I never thought that I’d be soo dependent on others. My friends and family are keeping me sane, and I could not thank them enough for that. So as a treat and to show that their efforts are not in vain, I picked fresh fruits from our garden (overflowing with plums, nectarines, and lemons- soon Asian pears, as well – hollar if you want some), and made a delicious fruit crisp. Topped it off with vanilla ice cream – Enjoy!

Cut

Berries


Nectarine Crisp
Source: Epicurious

Ingredients
Topping:
1 cup all purpose flour
6 tbs brown sugar
1 tsp grated lemon peel
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract
*1/4 cup quick cooking oats [I like texture]
*1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
*1 tsp raw sugar crystals

Filling:
2 large eggs
1 cup crème fraîche [sour cream works just fine]
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbs + 1/2 cup all purpose flour
3 cups blackberries [I used blueberries]
4 medium nectarines, pitted, cut into 11/2-inch cubes
1/4 cup sugar

* not in original recipe

Directions
Preheat oven to 375*F. Butter an oval ceramic dish (about 8″x10″).
Whisk flour, brown sugar, lemon peel, salt, and oats in bowl. Add melted butter and vanilla. Combine until evenly moistened but still crumbly. Set aside.

For the filling, whisk eggs in large bowl to blend. Beat in sour cream and vanilla. Add 1 tablespoon flour and whisk to blend. I also added MORE grated lemon peel – it is just too fragrant to exclude.

Floured

Place berries and nectarines in the prepared ceramic dish. Sprinkle remaining 1/2 cup flour and sugar over the fruit and toss to coat. Pour egg/sour cream mixture evenly over fruit. Using fingers, crumble topping over fruit, distributing evenly.Bake crisp until custard is set and topping is golden brown, about 55 minutes. Let cool at least 10 minutes and up to 1 hour before serving with ice cream.

Baked

Bon appetit!

Final

I wouldn’t say that I am HAPPY, per se. That would be misleading. I’m not necessarily emotionally stable either. It is expected – I have the right to mope, to self-pity (so unattractive BTW), to laugh and cry in the same heartbeat. But at least I’ve gotten over “despair” and am now moving on to “hope.” Hope for a different and better future. I’m 21 for crying out loud! Idealism is fuel for the young-hearted! I know what I want, and I am determined to go get it. Wish me luck!

AnhD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Summer Day

  1. heather says:

    i’m sold!

    cheers,

    *heather*

  2. addidesu says:

    The picture of the fruit (particularly the blueberries….mmmmm antioxidants) just made my mouth water. Thank goodness I’ll be returning home in less than a week to a land where fruit doesn’t cost your soul!

    Cheers to healthy summers,for body and mind and soul!

Leave a Reply

