Be Still My Heart

…And I thought, be still my heart
This could be a brand new start, with you…

This morning I woke to the songs of The Postal Service weaving in and out of my slumber – soft beats, dreamy vocals, easy listening – and it isn’t until I’m fully awake that I appreciate the beauty of the lyrics. It always seems that there is a perfect song for my every mood. And while still trapped in my own electronic-indie-pop reveries, I have to take a few moments to reflect as the end of summer hastens to a stop – the last remaining grains of sand falling through that hour glass.

My summer was this ugly, murky mess of confusion, frustration, and doubt. For someone who is a (slightly OCD) control freak like myself, it feels terrible to be lost, to be so unsure of “the next step”, to doubt myself and abilities. It’s not exactly healthy for one’s self esteem. But today, yes Today -though the last day of summer – marks the beginning of a brand new start. All that negativity is vanishing. A new school year. A new semester. A new relationship. So much to look forward to – no more looking back. No regrets. Everything we do, every mistake we make, has intrinsic value by virtue of being a lesson learned. Thus, why regret? You learned something didn’t you? I know I did. So, no regrets. Time to look ahead. Time to look forward. Time to look at a brand new start.

Big


German Pancakes
With waking up comes an unexplicable hunger… and with nothing instant in the fridge, I had to whip up something before work. Here is a tasty update on the boring pancake – you’ll love it I’m sure. Takes about 10 minutes to put together, and 20 minutes to bake (while you shower, perhaps?). And then enjoy!

Ingredients
1 1/2 tbs butter
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
1/3 cup honey
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
dash nutmeg
3 large eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbs confectioners’ sugar

Directions
Preheat oven to 400°F. On the stove, heat a well-seasoned 10-inch cast-iron skillet over high heat. Melt butter, then add apple slices and cook until softened and golden brown. Stir in honey and spices. Remove skillet from heat.

Collage

In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients, except confectioners’ sugar, until smooth. Pour into skillet over apple mixture. Bake until puffed and brown, about 20 minutes. Slide pancake onto a serving platter, apple-side up. Serve immediately by cutting into wedges and dusting with confectioners’ sugar. Also goes will with fresh fruit (berries!!!) on the side.

Slice

So, these pancakes aren’t exceptionally difficult to make. It is kinda exciting to see the pancake puff up in the oven. Absolutely delicious – the warm spices really help kick-start the morning doldrums, ya know? Today may be the last day of summer, and it looks like my summer sun is setting. But no dear friend. Today is but the beginning. The beginning of many new exciting things.

sunset

❤ anhD.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Still My Heart

  1. Nan says:

    Hi — I can second this recommendation — I make a very similar one. I’ll try it with the bp next time; see if it makes a difference. Your photo is great.
    Apples are good (although I add brown sugar — to the butter so it caramelizes a bit — instead of honey) but my favorite is peaches or raspberries or both or cherries or apricots. Also with almonds or other nuts (apples and walnuts!) in addition to the fruit.
    It seems to work with fresh, canned, frozed or even dried fruit.
    I may make one tomorrow!

  2. Hungry Huy says:

    Hey I hope your days are getting better! This is a nice looking recipe. I’m also a Bay Area native, but for now hello from Southern Cali :).

  3. Pingback: Rebound | Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

