Time wastes too fast

Time wastes too fast: every letter I trace tells me with what rapidity life follows my pen. The days and hours of it are flying over our heads like clouds of a windy day never to return…

Can you believe that summer is over? Months and months of agonizing over my move to NYC and here it is – just days away. I’m not ready to go. Heck, to a certain extent, I’m not sure I even want to go. There’s still too much to do, and I feel like I’m leaving everything and everyone I care about behind. Those long summer days are quickly turning into cool dewy nights; even the leaves have started to change color here in Berkeley. And all this time, I sat inside my office staring blindly at spreadsheets and useless charts, data tables and tiny text, completely unaware of the changes around me – time wastes too fast.

And now on the heels of my departure, I regret not having done more. More time with my family, more time in the kitchen, more time with friends, more time outside in the sunshine. Not to say I didn’t do these things – I am just greedy and wish I had done more. Time is my worst enemy it seems. So, this entry highlights one of my better summer days and is a toast to better summers in the future.


Chocolate Crackle Cookies
This cookie will satiate any chocoholic and will pass any aesthetic test out there. It’s easy to make, delicious to eat, and lovely to look at. This recipe is also very kid-friendly: I had my younger cousin and sister roll out the cookie dough, and they had a really fun time doing it. You can find this recipe in Martha Stewart’s Cookies.

Ingredients
8 oz bittersweet chocolate, melted & cooled
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
8 tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temp
1 1/3 c brown sugar, firmly packed
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 c milk
1 c confectioners’ sugar, plus more for rolling
1 c granulated sugar

Directions
Break/chop chocolate into small bits, and melt over medium heat in a heat-proof bowl or the top of a double boiler set over a pan of simmering water. Once melted, set aside to cool slightly.

In another bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
In a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat butter and brown sugar until light & fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and beat after each addition until well combined. Add vanilla then melted chocolate, continuing to beat on low speed.

Alternately add dry ingredients & milk until just combined. Divide the dough into thirds, wrap with plastic wrap, and chill in the refrigerator until firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350F. Place granulated sugar & confectioners’ sugar into 2 separate bowls.

Remove 1 portion of dough, continuing to refrigerate the others while not in use. Pinch & roll portions of dough into about 1″ balls. Roll each ball into first granulated sugar, then confectioners’ sugar to coat completely. Place 2″ apart on lined baking sheet. Continue until all cookie dough is used. If the dough becomes too soft and sticky, plastic wrap and place in freezer for a few minutes for it to firm up, then continue.

Bake for 12-14 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Allow to cool for a few minutes on baking sheet, before removing to wire rack to cool completely. Cookies can be stored in airtight containers for up to 3 days – if they even last that long.

So, I leave in t minus 5 days. The apprehension, the stress, the frantic packing (how do you stuff your whole life in 2 check-in suitcases?!) – all of it coalesces now. So God help me.

Sitting on my suitcases so they zip, while munching on a cookie,
AnhD.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time wastes too fast

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Adulthood « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

  2. Pingback: Holiday Cookies « Confessions from the Cookie Jar

Leave a Reply

