Hey There Delilah

Hey there Delilah, what’s it like in New York City? I’m a thousand miles away, but girl, tonight you look so…

There is something about this city that is very alienating. Very intimidating. And very cold, despite the 90 degree sunshine and humidity. Here, it is so easy to be just another face in the crowd, as you hustle to the underground subway station or are jostled on the bus or duck into a yellow taxi cab. It seems like you could disappear for a while, and not a living soul would know. I think a synonym for these feelings is loneliness or perhaps homesickness.

View from my room of the Hudson & GW Bridge.view

I optimistically set out each day to find a deeper human connection, when I know very well that my best connections are all in California. Having only temporary successes, I come home each night to a very empty apartment that reverberates every sigh I breathe and every step I take. The heart is a lonely hunter. It seems that the only way to treat my blues is with good food and company, and thank God for old and new friends.

whole


Banana Muffins
Source: King Arthur Flour
I realize I already have a very similar banana muffin recipe posted on the blog, but Roity and I made these together, and I think these are superior. Moist, delicate crumb, only slightly elastic, and a delicious crumbly streusel topping that gives some crunch.

Ingredients
Batter:
½ c yogurt [sub sour cream]
1 large egg
¼ c vegetable oil
1½ c mashed banana (2-3 large)
¾ c granulated sugar
1 c oat bran
1½ c flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp nutmeg

Topping:
¼ c brown sugar
¼ c old-fashioned rolled oats
2 tbsp flour
¼ tsp cinnamon
1 tbs butter, softened

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375°F and line muffin tin.
In a bowl, combine yogurt, egg, oil, mashed banana, sugar, and oat bran until thoroughly mixed. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and nutmeg.

mix

Add banana mixture to flour mixture, mixing until just combined. Do not over work the batter to prevent excess gluten formation. Scoop into prepared muffin tin, filling just over 4/5 full. The muffins will rise over the brim of the cup.
In a separate, work the topping ingredients together until the mixture is crumbly.
Sprinkle the muffins with topping.

top

Bake the muffins for 20-24 minutes, until the muffins are set and browned. Remove from oven and let rest in the pan for 5 minutes before removing and enjoying.

bite

It’s been about a week now, and I think I’m growing to dislike the city less. The initial culture shock has worn off and I’m making great new friends. I’ll be doing some experiments with gluten and dairy free recipes soon, so that is definitely a challenge to look forward to (for you Carly!!). School starts on Tuesday, which will keep me happily busy and preoccupied. Only 3 months until I’m back home. Can’t wait.

Hey there Delilah, you be good and don’t you miss me. Two more years and you’ll be done with school, and I’ll be making history like I do. You’ll know it’s all because of you, we can do whatever we want to. Hey there Delilah, here’s to you.

AnhD

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey There Delilah

  1. Carly says:

    Love, love, love it! Can’t wait for our culinary adventures =)

Leave a Reply

