Grind

So I’m back in NYC and it sure is cold. This is the view from my window on a fair-weathered day (no rain or snow or sleet).

View

I’m holding out pretty well, considering its below freezing and that I just spent a month in warm, sunny, balmy California. For those of you traveling to NYC soon, I highly suggest investing in a down jacket [my friend B just bought one from the NorthFace Outlet in Berkeley for a steal!!] and some weatherproof boots with good traction. The roads are pretty slippery and wet, so a pair of tall, warm boots are a must – I had to learn that the hard way. Anyway, the new semester is off to a pretty good start – I have 4-day weekends, every weekend! And, I have now managed to book a flight home every month I’m here. Fairygodmother is visiting me next week, so it will feel like I never left home at all! Additionally, I will be spending 9 days in Paris in March. 2011 is looking great so far.

On this particular day, I made Korean scallion pancakes called pajeon. These are easy to make, and super satisfying. Warm and soft and super flavorful. Served warm, they are great for a cold day and make the perfect after-school snack.

Pajeon


Korean Scallion Pancakes, Pajeon

Ingredients
For Pancake:
2 c all-purpose flour
2 c water [± a few spoonfuls]
2 eggs
2-3 stalks scallion, thinly sliced
1 tsp salt
pepper to taste
vegetable oil

For Dipping Sauce:
¼ c soy sauce
½ tbsp white vinegar
1 stalk scallion, thinly sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
½ tsp sugar
1 tsp sesame oil

Directions
In a medium sized bowl, combine all pancake ingredients and whisk until incorporated. The batter should be like normal American pancake batter, so if it’s too thick, drizzle in a few teaspoons of water and mix thoroughly. Put aside.

Scallions

Meanwhile, for the dipping sauce, whisk together all ingredients and adjust according to taste.

Set a large non-stick skillet on medium-high heat and add enough oil to evenly coat the pan.

Pour approximately a 1/2 cup of batter into the hot pan, tilting the pan a bit to achieve a pancake about 5″ in diameter and 1/4″ thick. Allow each side to brown evenly (about 6-8 minutes). The scallion pancake will puff up a little, as expected. Once brown, remove from pan and repeat with remaining batter. Slice finished pancakes into pizza-like wedges and serve with dipping sauce.

Wedge

Having eaten all those pancakes, I am ready to get back in the grind. A mountain of homework awaits me, and seeing how I plan on enjoying my 4-day weekend, I need to get started on that now. Hope you try out the pajeon and tell me what you think!

Stay warm,
AnhD

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grind

  1. fairygodmother says:

    can’t wait for all the things you’ll be making me next week! i lavv you! 😉

Leave a Reply

