When Life Gives You Lemons…

Okay. I am not allowed to complain. I mean, I signed up for this whole working 6-days-a-week (and sometimes 7) deal. And so far, I’ve been handling it pretty well, except when others pile more things on top of me in the form of favors or gigs. I’d like to think I can do everything, but I’m finally starting to admit to myself that I just physically cannot.

One of the best parts of my day is coming back to my newly moved in Silverlake duplex. And what I want more than anything when I get home is a nice refreshing drink. Now, I’m the type of person who typically comes out of the supermarket with more beverages than food. If I had a fridge with just beverages, it would have O.J., pomegranate green tea, guava juice, horchata, aranciata, some Coca-Cola’s, some Izze’s, but most importantly, it would have lemonade. I absolutely love lemonade in all sorts of variations, so I’m quite disappointed when it’s too tart, too sweet, or simply tastes like it’s not made out of real lemons. So on day like today, when life is giving me lemons, I made strawberry lemonade.

      

Strawberry Lemonade
This recipe was made with the materials I had. The strawberry flavor isn’t particularly strong, but the bits of strawberry that come up once in a while are a nice surprise. There are a few recipes online that instruct you to boil the strawberries, but the absolutely delicious lemonade stand at the Hollywood Farmers’ Market assures me that they do not.

Ingredients
1 incredibly large lemon from my frontyard (approx. 2-3 lemons)
½ pomegranate
10+ strawberries of variable dimensions
3 teaspoons of orange blossom honey
1 liter of water

Directions
I’m embarrassed to say, I don’t have a blender, or anything like that, so I hand squeezed everything (the cuts on my arms are still stinging). For the pomegranate, I took the seeds out into a bowl and crushed them with a spoon. The lazy barista might want to use POM. For the strawberries, I do recommend hand squeezing them, as the texture produced is different from blending. And for those who like texture in their drinks, be sure to include some pulp from the lemon. To make it a cocktail, add approx. 4-5 shots of vodka, and you’re all set. I would mix it and let it sit for a while to let the strawberries steep.

For the non-cook like me, this is a super simple way to make something refreshing, to have your apartment smell like lemons and berries, and just to relax on a sour day. 😉

Vivian C.

This entry was posted in Rants, Thoughts, Musings, Refreshments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

