Welcome to Adulthood

Hello friends, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but time really does fly!! Can you believe Christmas is only a short 13 days away (and of course I’m not done gift shopping)? So much has happened in the last few weeks, I don’t even know where to begin. To start off, I graduate in FOUR days. I accepted a real job offer. Last week, I moved into my new (and first) big-girl apartment. I am making big-girl purchases and investments. I am making big-girl decisions. How did it happen so quickly and fortuitously? I still feel like that awkward college girl who first started this blog almost 4 years ago (4th bday coming soon!!). Since when did I enter adulthood?

New apartment, and some festive decorations
NewApt

Of all my recent decisions, the biggest one I’ve made is to stay in NYC for a few more years. I know, I complain about being here all the time, but thanks to a few special individuals, I am warming up to the idea. These individuals (and you know who you are) have made the experience incredibly worthwhile. I feel more at home, I have a sense of community. I know who I can go to when I need help. I know who I want to go dancing with, I know who I want to cook with – I know who I can depend on. And so, I dedicate this holiday season to you – thank you for making a lonely girl feel welcomed in a big city. It’s all a girl could ask for 🙂

In the holiday spirit, I thought I’d share with you some favorite cookie and other dessert recipes for your upcoming holiday parties and cookie exchanges. I hope you enjoy.


brownsugarcookies

Brown Sugar Cookies
I recently made these for a class, and found that the warm spices so comforting and perfect for the holidays. So, bake with caution, as they are highly addictive!
Source: Joy the Baker

Ingredients
2c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 sticks (6 oz) unsalted butter, soft
1 1/4 c dark brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg

Directions
In a bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, salt, ground cinnamon and ginger.

With an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light, fluffy, and the sugar incorporates into the butter. Add egg and vanilla extract and beat to combine. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar mixture, and continue to beat until a dough forms and all the dry ingredients have disappeared into the butter. Use a spatula as needed to scrape down the bowl. Once combined, cover bowl with plastic wrap and chill in fridge for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350*F and line baking sheets with silicon pad or parchment. Drop tablespoons of dough onto the pan, and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until the edges are brown. This will ensure a soft, chewy cookie. For crisp cookies, add 1-2 minutes of baking time. Remove cookie sheet from oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to rack to cool completely.

Cardamom Chocolate Cuppycakes
These are particularly festive if you decorate them with whole cardamom pods or silver dragées (I bought these when in Paris, but also available on Amazon).
Source: I honestly can’t remember how I made these cupcakes. I believe I altered a basic chocolate cupcake recipe by adding a half teaspoon of ground cardamom, and then again adding a bit of ground cardamom to the butter cream frosting. Alternatively, a simple whipped cream + pinch of cardamom is also good over these spiced cuppy cakes.

cardamomcupcakes

Other Delicious Cookies & Desserts

Tea Flavored Shortbread Cookies Teashortbread
Cowboy Cookies Cowboy
Chocolate Crackle Cookies CrackleCookies
Linzer Cookies
Molasses Spice Cookies Cookies
Pumpkin Scones Scones

You can also browse through the Index for additional recipes. What are you favorite holiday recipes? Share them below! Hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season so far.
Longing for sleep and Christmas loving,
-AnhD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to Adulthood

  1. Simone Seol says:

    doood. do you still have these? I’m so coming over. lol

Leave a Reply

