Late Afternoons Lately

The last few days have been surprisingly blissful. New job, picking up old hobbies, more blogging, more cooking, more introspection time, more downtime to do things for myself. For the first time in a loong time, I don’t feel trapped or stressed or pressured. There’s definitely a bounce in my step. My lunches for the past few days haven’t been huddled over my laptop in a dark cube somewhere – instead, I get to walk out to the Embarcadero and soak in all that lovely vitamin D. And just as my favorite time of the day hits – those gorgeous golden late afternoons – I grab a cold cup of iced Blue Bottle coffee from the Ferry Building. Oh those beautiful late afternoons.

Last weekend was Mother’s Day, and I spent the late afternoon arranging these lovely things with the help and direction of my friends at VFD. I’d like to think that I am improving, take a look:

Collage

Yesterday in the late afternoon, my sister convinced (manipulated) me to make poke for dinner. Refreshing and perfect for these balmy nights – not to mention NOT much work at all! As long as you have good fish, there is no need for much work – just a light touch will do. A touch of soy sauce, a bit of sesame, a bit of creamy avocado. If you want to get really fancy, maybe a bit of Sriracha mayo or a bit of crunch from some crush macadamia nuts. The variations are really endless, so here’s a basic recipe for you to start with –

Ahi Poke
Ingredients
1 lb sushi grade ahi tuna, small cubes
1/2 c light soy sauce
3-4 stalks green onion
1/2 small Maui onion, small dice
2-3 tbs sesame oil
2 tbs toasted sesame (black or white)
2-3 tbs wasabi
1 sheet of nori, cut into thin strips
2 avocados, small dice

Directions
In a large bowl, whisk together the sauce ingredients – soy sauce, sesame oil, wasabi. Fold the ahi tuna and avocado into the wet ingredients and coat with the sauce. Throw in the onion, green onion, toasted sesame seeds, then top with the thinly shredded nori. Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

Ahi

Salmon Poke
Ingredients
1 lb sushi grade salmon, small cubes
1/4 c mayonnaise
2-3 tbs Sriracha
2-3 tbs light soy sauce
1/2 small Maui onion, small dice
3-4 stalks green onion
1 sheet of nori, cut into thin strips
2 avocados, small diced
2 tbs toasted sesame (black or white)
drizzle of sesame oil

Directions
In a large bowl, whisk together the sauce ingredients – mayonnaise, Sriracha, and soy sauce. Fold the salmon and avocado into the wet ingredients and coat with the sauce. Throw in and mix together the remaining ingredients. Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

Salmon

I served these 2 versions of poke with sushi rice and teriyaki fish and a bit of seaweed salad. It makes for a gloriously simple meal and oh-so-satisfying.

Rice

How have you been spending your late afternoons? Everything is hit with that warm saturation and glows golden under the sunlight. Any who,, I hope this spell of bliss lasts a bit longer and I get to keep at my favorite hobbies. Until soon!

AnhD

This entry was posted in Entrées, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

