Confessions of a Reluctant Gardener

Maybe I need to take a friend’s advice and do some blog rebranding…

Dahlia

Ranunculus

Lettuce

WeepingCherry

Up to this point, I have had very limited experience planting anything (terrariums aside). But I’ve found it surprisingly fun and really rewarding. After a day of work, I really like being knee-deep in soil. The earth is musky yet sweet. And there’s just so much life, if you take a second to look around – a pulsating moth pupa or a shy earth worm. And you literally reap what you sow – our plants have been sprouting nicely. From the fruits and veggies to all the lovely flowers we’ve planted. It’s only been a few weeks, but each day, I can see each plant grow a little taller, spread a little wider – this really tickles my need for instant gratification. And our baby chicks have also grown up so quickly, into little majestic pullets. In another month or so, they should begin laying, so I’m looking forward to sharing more details on that.

Chick1

Chick2

But alas this is a food blog – I did manage to capture this image before devouring a dozen of the most amazing cheddar and spring onion biscuits. I’ll be sharing a recipe shortly. These little pockets of buttery, bacony biscuits are just perfect with gravy. I’m going to give Jacob’s Pickles a run for its money.
CheddarBiscuit

Thanks for stopping by and until next time!
AnhD

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

