Rebound

It’s been almost three months since my last entry – I have completely neglected this blog in pursuit of other hobbies and habits. Since the last entry, we’ve celebrated a number of holidays and auspicious occasions, traveled across a few continents and time zones  – and there has been good food all around. Today, though, I am feeling a bit nostalgic and have been obsessing over this concept of ‘rebound.’ In most sports, it’s this phenomenon where a ball or puck bounces back through the air after hitting a hard surface or object. For humans, for me, it’s been a person or thing that allows you to bounce back after or get through a low and difficult period. Readers of the blog will know that I’ve had good luck with rebounds – here and here. And I think I may have discovered a new one. Most recently, I came to the realization that some of my deepest aspirations and dreams may never come to fruition – not for lack of trying, but because some things just aren’t meant to be and are completely out of one’s control. The shock of that can be devastating and I am reeling from that impact. Since I was a little girl, I’ve always wanted to be a ‘forever student.’ I had dreams of standing in old dusty lecture halls engaged in spirited discussions. I would wear tweed blazers and pin my hair back, as we discussed Dostoyevsky or the political economy of Saigon or perhaps the benefits of neoadjuvant Herceptin. Yes, it was a super romanticized and unrealistic view of academia, but it drew me in. It’s only now that I realize that I’m not quite suited for it and many of these institutions do not even want me. Rejection is hard, no matter how old you are. So before mustering up the courage to try again, I’ve found a rebound. And that rebound is beautiful.

DutchMaster1

It’s been quite wet here in Northern California and I am dreaming of warm weather and the tropics. Enter this gorgeous key lime pie.

2017-03-10_11-37-03

Key Lime Pie
Source: Adapted from Pioneer Woman
Key lime pie is super easy. I whipped this one up after work and was able to get it cooled and set in time for dinner. I (kinda) halved the original filling recipe and used a tart pan, as I like a greater crust to filling ratio. And I just like the look of a tart pan better, but feel free to use a pie tin.

Ingredients
For the crust:
18 whole Graham crackers
1/3 c sugar
1/3 c butter, melted

For the filling:
1 1/2 tbs key lime zest
1/3 c key lime juice
1 whole egg yolks
1/2 can (8 oz) sweetened condensed milk

Directions
Preheat oven to 350*F.
Place all Graham crackers in a food processor, along with sugar and melted butter. Pulse until all broken up into crumbs. Press the crumbs into a tart pan, creating a well in the center with a small crust. I used the bottom of a measuring cup to help press the crumbs together and eyeballed a small 2-3 cm crust. Place on a baking sheet then bake for 5-10 minutes or until golden. Remove from oven and set aside to cool slightly.

For the filling, mix lime zest, juice, and egg yolks in a mixing bowl. Add in condensed milk and mix on high until smooth and lump-free. Pour mixture into crust and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, allow to cool, and refrigerate until set. Serve with sweetened whipped cream and more lime zest. To make this even more tropical, feel free to top with a whipped coconut cream – you will feel like you’ve instantly transported to the tropical Keys or Caribbean.

2017-03-10_11-38-11

2017-03-10_11-38-33

David and I have been putting a lot of time and effort into my ‘rebound’ activity. We hosted a pop-up stem bar at the San Pedro Square Market in San Jose. We’ve started our subscription service for flower lovers. We’ve done a number of focus groups and really worked on our brand and imaging. It’s my rebound… and like my last rebound, I’m totally in love with it. We’ll see where it all goes.

Thanks for stopping by!
AnhD

This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

